Author Topic: Uploading photos to database  (Read 344 times)

Offline thurian

• View Profile
Uploading photos to database
« on: April 20, 2009, 03:12:47 pm »
Hi all, I'm a newbie to this site. Can anybody tell me how long it takes photos to go tru screening and is there any way for me to check their position in the queue?
Thanks in advance!

Offline Joe McDermott

• Screener
    • View Profile
    • None
Re: Uploading photos to database
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2009, 04:34:31 pm »
Usually 5 to 7 days. Depends how busy screener is. Air show season may take longer as many more photos sent in.

System for checking photos in the screening queue under development & testing at the moment.

Joe

Online Frank

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • http://www.irishairpics.com
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2009, 05:53:52 pm »
Hi thurian,

Welcome to the website.

Whenever I get the chance I try to add more facilities & functionality to the website, one of the functions currently on the to do list is viewing the upload queue and your pending pictures.

Right now there is a test facility running that will allow you to upload pictures and see what pictures you have in the queue, their position in the screening queue is a function that has not been added yet.

It can take up to 7 days, sometimes more, for pictures to be screened, it depends on the time of year and it also depends on how much travelling I do but I try to screen pictures every day. If, as far as I'm concerned, you upload quality pictures every time or most of the time, your pictures will get added to the site quicker as there is less work involved with them.

I download most upload queue pictures to my pc and check them there, if a picture requires a small adjustment I will generally, but not always, fix it rather than decline it. However, if my time is short I will decline the picture rather than fix it but an email explaining why the picture was declined is always sent to the photographer.